AWARDS OF RECOGNITION 2025 Recipients



Alberta School Councils' Association is proud to present the following awards of recognition in support of school council efforts in Alberta.

SCHOOL COUNCIL Award of MERIT

The School Council Award of Merit recognizes effective school council practices that have an identifiable impact on supporting student learning and school improvement at the school level, the district level or the provincial level.

Annie L. Gaetz School Council (Red Deer Public)

École Good Shepherd School Council (Christ the Redeemer)

École James S. McCormick School Council (Wolf Creek Public)

SCHOOL COUNCIL PARENT of DISTINCTION Award

The School Council Parent of Distinction Award recognizes an individual who demonstrates ability to promote parental engagement and involvement in the public education system. Truly exceptional in their dedication and initiative, this individual has dynamic leadership qualities and encourages opportunity to influence student learning success in the school community.

Axinia Döring Turner Valley School Council (Foothills Public)

Desiree Miguel Parkside Montessori School Council (Grande Prairie Public)

Greta Gerstner W. P. Wagner High School Council (Edmonton Public)

Hanady Jareh Horizon Leadership Academy School Council (Palliser)

DIVISION SCHOOL COUNCIL ENGAGEMENT Award

The District School Council Engagement Award recognizes effective, inclusive, and collaborative system-wide practices that, through the efforts of a district-wide, multi-school council organization of representatives, has an identifiable impact supporting school council efforts to benefit student learning and school district success.

No nominations received

EXCELLENCE in LEARNING PARTNERSHIPS Award

The Excellence in Learning Partnerships Award recognizes partnerships that include the school council, and support parent and community involvement in education to benefit the community and enhance the learning experience of students.

St. Benedict School Council (Calgary Catholic School Division)

The Alberta School Councils' Association Board of Directors salutes the 2025 award recipients for outstanding service in their schools and communities.

CONGRATULATIONS TO ALL THE 2025 AWARD RECIPIENTS!