

DIVISION OFFICE 129 - 4th Ave SW, Suite 300, PO Box 5700 High River, AB TIV M17 T: 403.652.3001 | F: 403.652.4204 foothillsschooldivision.ca

Superintendent of Schools Christopher Fuzessy Board Chair Theresa Letendre - Ward 3 Vice Chair Lisa Penzo - Ward 4 Jack Molyneux - Ward 1 John Evans - Ward 2 Sharon Nichols - Ward 4 Phil Irwin - Ward 5

February 1, 2024

President Brandi Rai Alberta School Councils' Association Suite 207, 11010 – 142 Street NW Edmonton, AB T5N 2R1

By email: parents@albertaschoolcouncils.ca

## **RE: Support for the Alberta School Councils' Association**

On behalf of the Foothills School Division Board of Trustees, I would like express gratitude to the Alberta School Councils' Association (ASCA) for being an invaluable resource and steadfast support to the School Councils within our division.

The resources, services, and learning opportunities that ASCA has delivered to an array of Foothills School Division School Councils, have helped to empower the parents who are stepping into roles on school council and fundraising societies, and have helped to build greater understanding of meaningful parental involvement. By providing workshops like 'Effective Engagement in Your School Community' and 'Fundraising Association Partnership Purpose,' alongside aiding councils in revising and modernizing their policies and procedures, we repeatedly hear school council members affirm that ASCA is organization of significant value.

The Board of Trustees looks forward to continued collaboration with ASCA as we believe together, we can support parents, cultivate resilient school communities, and empower effective school councils— all dedicated to the advancement of our students' well-being and successs.

With gratitude,

here a leferdre.

Theresa Letendre Board Chair, Board of Trustees | Ward 3 Foothills School Division

Cc: Foothills School Division Board of Trustees Foothills School Division School Councils COSC Chairs