2015 Awards of Recognition RECIPIENTS



Alberta School Councils' Association is proud to present the following awards of recognition in support of school council efforts in Alberta.

SCHOOL COUNCIL Award of MERIT 2015

The School Council Award of Merit recognizes effective school council practices that have an identifiable impact on supporting student learning and school improvement at the school level, the district level or the provincial level.

Rio Terrace Elementary School

Edmonton, Edmonton Public Schools

Rio Terrace School Council sharpened their focus on the importance of communicating with and involving the broader school community – and is making a positive difference!

Rio Terrace School Council created a school council Facebook page, with constantly updated information, currently accessed by approximately 300 parents. The council also produces an engaging monthly newsletter. With ease of access to timely and interesting information, the school council has seen an increase in the numbers of parents actively participating at school council meetings and as volunteers at the school.

Building partnerships was also identified as an important way to better connect community to the school. The community league, local MLA and district technology services now play an active role with the school.

Rio Terrace School Council has also successfully organized and hosted an International Family Festival for the past five years – celebrating the rich cultural heritage of the school's students and families. Parents, grandparents, and others, feel welcome and valued at Rio Terrace School.

PARENT of DISTINCTION Awards 2015

The Parent of Distinction Award recognizes an individual who demonstrates ability to promote parental engagement in the public education system. Truly exceptional in their dedication and initiative, this individual has dynamic leadership qualities and encourages opportunity to influence student learning success in the school community.

Julie Patton Ecole Camille J Lerouge, Red Deer

Joanne Dubuc Ecole St. Paul, Fort McMurray

Julianne Bourque Ecole St. Paul, Fort McMurray

Barb Crowley Ecole Pere Kenneth Kearns, Sherwood Park

Cathie Langmead St. Martha, Fort McMurray

Kristeen Gordon Millgrove School, Spruce Grove

Tara Grindle Coalhurst Elementary, Coalhurst

Donni Marano Neil M Ross Catholic School, St. Albert

Connie Cunningham Foothills Composite High School / Alberta

School of Fine Arts, Okotoks

The Alberta School Councils' Association Board of Directors salutes the 2015 award recipients for outstanding service in their schools and communities.

CONGRATULATIONS TO ALL THE 2015 AWARD RECIPIENTS