Seven Sacred Teachings

Seven Sacred Teachings

The Seven Sacred Teachings, also known as the Teachings of the Seven Grandfathers, is a set of teachings on human conduct towards others. They are what was traditionally and still is to this day needed in order for communities to survive.

The Seven Sacred Teachings

To cherish knowledge is to know WISDOM;

To know LOVE is to know peace;

To honor all of the Creation is to have RESPECT;

BRAVERY is to face the foe with integrity;

HONESTY also means “righteousness”, be honest first with yourself – in word and action;

HUMILITY is to know yourself as a sacred part of the Creation,

TRUTH is to know all of these things.

Visit Empowering the Spirit website

Using the Seven Sacred Teachings in Classrooms and Schools
Each of the Seven Sacred Teachings honours the virtues necessary for a full and healthy life. Each of the Teachings is embodied by an animal to underscore the point that all actions and decisions made by man are manifest on a physical plain. The animal world taught man how to live close to the earth; the connection that has been established between the animal world and the world of man instills a respect for all life in those who follow the traditional way.