Land Acknowledgements

The following acknowledgements of being on Treaty Lands are appropriate for a public gathering in specific areas:

Treaty 6

"I'd like to acknowledge that we are on Treaty 6 territory, a traditional meeting grounds, gathering place, and travelling route to the Cree, Saulteaux (So-toe), Blackfoot, Métis, Dene (Denay) and Nakota Sioux (Sue). We acknowledge all the many First Nations, Métis, and Inuit whose footsteps have marked these lands for centuries."

Treaty 7

"I'd like to acknowledge that we are on Treaty 7 territory, the traditional territories of the Blackfoot Nations, including Siksika (Sick-sick-ah), Piikani (Pee-can-ee), and Kainai (Kigh-a-nigh), the Tsuut'ina (Soot- ina **a bit of a stop after the t), Nation and Stoney Nakoda First Nations. We acknowledge all the many First Nations, Métis, and Inuit whose footsteps have marked these lands for centuries."

Treaty 8

"I want to acknowledge that we are meeting on Treaty 8 territory and we honour and acknowledge all of the First Nations, Métis and Inuit peoples who have lived, traveled and gathered on these lands for thousands of years."

Note – it is acceptable practice to ask a host, or local Elder/Knowledge Keeper, for wording specific to a particular area within the Treaty land.