Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Sign In   |   Register
Site Search
News & Press: Provincial

Shining Student Award 2015

April 17, 2015   (0 Comments)
Share |


Rocky Mountain House student wins 2015 Indigenous Shining Student Award

Brandon Strawberry, a Grade 11 student at West Central High School in Rocky Mountain House (Wild Rose School Division), is the 2015 recipient of the Indigenous Shining Student Award, which celebrates FNMI students who are shining examples in their communities.


Brandon is described as a positive role model for other students. Brandon turned his life around by taking on leadership opportunities and embracing his culture and spirituality. As the 2015 recipient of this award, Brandon will be sponsored to attend a youth conference on leadership and he will be recognized in his local school community.


Twenty-nine students were in the running for the 2015 award, which is presented annually by the Education Partners’ Task Force on First Nations, Métis and Inuit (FNMI) Student Success and Well-being.


First runner-up: Emerson Lawrence, Grade 12, Grimshaw High School, Peace River School Division.

Second runner-up :(2) Patrick Crowchild, Grade 12, Bishop O’Byrne High School, Calgary Catholic School Division Starr Parsons, Grade 10, Bishop Grandin High School, Calgary Catholic School Division


The task force, which works to improve the success of Alberta’s First Nations Métis and Inuit students, includes representatives from the Alberta School Boards Association (ASBA), Alberta School Councils’ Association (ASCA), Alberta Teachers’ Association (ATA), College of Alberta School Superintendents (CASS) and Alberta Education, FNMI Education Division. Xerox Canada Ltd. sponsors this award.


School trustees Sharilyn Anderson (Peace Wapiti School Division) and Dianne Lavoie (Holy Family Catholic Schools) co-chair the Education Partners’ Task Force on First Nations, Métis and Inuit (FNMI) Student Success and Well-being.



Media Contact:

Brian Callaghan, Education Consultant, ASBA. Phone 1.780.482.7311 Cell 1.403.707.8180


more Calendar

2017-05-18 » 2017-05-31
Curriculum Development Engagement Sessions

Featured Members
Dawn MillerASCA Vice President
Allison PikeASCA President

Alberta School Councils' Association (ASCA)
#1200, 9925-109 Street
Edmonton, AB T5K 2J8

Phone: 780-454-9867 Toll Free: 1-800-661-3470
Fax: 780-455-0167