Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Sign In   |   Register
Site Search
News & Press: Provincial

Horatio Alger Alberta Scholarship Winners

March 13, 2014   (0 Comments)
Share |

Horatio Alger Association of Canada announces Jim Pattison Alberta Scholarship Program winners

The Horatio Alger Association of Canada is pleased to announce that 20 Alberta students have been awarded $5,000 scholarships as part of the Horatio Alger Jim Pattison Alberta Scholarship Program.

The Association offers scholarships to full-time high school students in Alberta who have a critical financial need and have demonstrated integrity and perseverance in overcoming adversity, as well as strength of character, a good academic record, a commitment to pursue higher education, and a desire to contribute to society. This is the first year for the Alberta program.

"This year's winners are an exceptional group of motivated students who will shape the future of our country," said Dominic D'Alessandro, President of the Horatio Alger Association of Canada. "They are proof that with hard work and determination, anyone can overcome difficult circumstances. It is an honour for the Association to help these inspiring young leaders with their education."

This year's winners are:

Galen G. Beerbaum, Crescent Heights High School, Calgary
Kolme G. Brown, Lethbridge Collegiate Inst, Lethbridge
Dylan S. Bruck, Ardrossan Jr.-Sr. High School, Sherwood Park
Adrew Choi, Sir Winston Churchill High School, Calgary
Sophie Ha, Crescent Heights High School, Calgary
Cynthia Hon, Crescent Heights High School, Calgary
Sumaira Islam, Bowness Senior High School, Calgary
Arron Lai, Western Canada High School, Calgary
Taylor Lapierre, Chinook High School, Lethbridge
Katara M. Lewis, Cremona School, Cremona
Ivy Luu, Western Canada High School, Calgary
Korey B. Mah, Jasper Place High School, Edmonton
Christine Q. Nguyen, Western Canada High School, Calgary
Kathryn T. Nguyen, Clear Water Academy, Calgary
Danelle F. Smith, Bishop Carroll High School, Calgary
Ryan Tram, Sir Winston Churchill High School, Calgary
Nathan P. Van Decker, Beiseker Community High School, Kathyrn
Tayler VanWeeteringen, Foothills Composite High School, Okotoks
Haley B. Wolf, Warner High School, Warner
Carol A. Yerxa, Fairview High School, Fairview

The Association received more than 3,600 applications in the four provinces in which it currently operates. Applicant profiles confirmed the need for these needs-based scholarships. The average annual family income of applicants was $17,778; 51% had experienced death, incarceration or abandonment of a parent or guardian, and 24% had been physically and/or mentally abused. At the same time, applicants had an average high school average of 87%; 100% had been involved in community service activities, and 55% worked during the school year.

"The numbers demonstrate the critical need for this type of scholarship," added Mr. D'Alessandro. "The Association is proud to play a small role in giving these students a hand up."

About the Horatio Alger Association of Canada
The Horatio Alger Association of Canada, the Canadian affiliate of the Horatio Alger Association of Distinguished Americans, Inc., is a non-profit educational organization dedicated to the simple but powerful belief that hard work, honesty and determination can conquer all obstacles. The Association honours the achievements of outstanding individuals in our society who have succeeded in spite of adversity and who encourage young people to pursue their dreams through higher education. The Horatio Alger Association of Canada currently awards scholarships annually to deserving young people in Alberta, British Columbia, Ontario and Quebec and will expand its scholarship giving across Canada by 2015. more information, visit

Adam Daifallah, HATLEY Strategy Advisors, 514.316.7089

more Calendar

2017-05-18 » 2017-05-31
Curriculum Development Engagement Sessions

Featured Members
Dawn MillerASCA Vice President
Allison PikeASCA President

Alberta School Councils' Association (ASCA)
#1200, 9925-109 Street
Edmonton, AB T5K 2J8

Phone: 780-454-9867 Toll Free: 1-800-661-3470
Fax: 780-455-0167